Thirsk and Malton Area Constituency Committee


Councillors Caroline Goodrick (Chair), Keane Duncan, Val Arnold, Robert Baker, Lindsay Burr, Gareth Dadd, Caroline Patmore, Janet Sanderson, Peter Sowray, Helen Swiers, Roberta Swiers and Greg White.


Friday, 1st October 2021


10.00 am


Remote meeting held via Microsoft Teams


Under his delegated decision making powers in the Officers’ Delegation Scheme in the Council’s Constitution, the Chief Executive Officer has power, in cases of emergency, to take any decision which could be taken by the Council, the Executive or a committee. Following on from the expiry of the Local Authorities and Police and Crime Panels (Coronavirus) (Flexibility of Local Authority and Police and Crime Panel Meetings) (England and Wales) Regulations 2020, which allowed for committee meetings to be held remotely, the County Council resolved at its meeting on 5 May 2021 that, for the present time, in light of the continuing Covid-19 pandemic circumstances, remote live-broadcast committee meetings should continue (as informal meetings of the Committee Members), with any formal decisions required being taken by the Chief Executive Officer under his emergency decision making powers and after consultation with other Officers and Members as appropriate and after taking into account any views of the relevant Committee Members. This approach will be reviewed in September 2021.  


The meeting will be available to view once the meeting commences, via the following link -  Recording of previous live broadcast meetings are also available there.






Welcome by the Chair - Introductions & Updates






Election of Vice-Chair






Minutes of the Meeting held on 25 June 2021


(Pages 3 - 8)




Apologies & Declarations of Interest






Public Questions or Statements



Members of the public may ask questions or make statements at this meeting if they have given notice and provided the text to Melanie Carr of Democratic Services (contact details below) no later than midday on Tuesday 28 September 2021. Each speaker should limit themselves to 3 minutes on any item.  Members of the public who have given notice will be invited to speak:

·           at this point in the meeting if their questions/statements relate to matters which are not otherwise on the Agenda (subject to an overall time limit of 30 minutes);

·           when the relevant Agenda item is being considered if they wish to speak on a matter which is on the Agenda for this meeting.


If you are exercising your right to speak at this meeting, but do not wish to be recorded, please inform the Chairman who will instruct those taking a recording to cease whilst you speak.





Attendance of Police Fire & Crime Commissioner - Mr Philip Allott






Rural Policing Annual Update



Purpose:  To receive a presentation on rural policing from the North Yorkshire Police’s Rural Taskforce Unit.





Annual Update on Schools, Educational Achievement and Finance

(Pages 9 - 20)


Purpose: To provide an update on the local educational landscape, educational achievement and the financial challenges affecting schools in the Thirsk & Malton area.





Work Programme

(Pages 21 - 24)


Purpose: To consider, develop and adopt the Area Constituency Committee’s Work Programme for 2020/21.





Other business which the Chairman agrees should be considered as a matter of urgency because of special circumstances.





Contact Details


Enquiries relating to this agenda please contact Melanie Carr Tel: 01609 533849 or e-mail:






Barry Khan

Assistant Chief Executive

(Legal and Democratic Services)


County Hall



23 September 2021




Formatting for Agenda ITEMS:









Formatting for COMMENTS:












Formatting for Sub numbered items:









If different formatting for Restricted items is required use this:









Style 2 – use this if you need more than one formatting style for Agenda Items