Notice of a public meeting of

Young People Overview and Scrutiny Committee




Councillors Janet Jefferson (Chair), Gillian Quinn (Deputy Chair), Val Arnold, Lindsay Burr, MBE, Stephanie Duckett, Mel Hobson, Cliff Lunn, Stuart Martin, John Mann, Zoe Metcalfe, Richard Musgrave, Joe Plant, Annabel Wilkinson, Tom Cavell-Taylor, Emma Higgins, Stephen Maltby, David  Sharp, Andrew Smith, Ross Strachan and David Watson.


Friday, 25th February, 2022


10.00 am


Remote meeting held via Microsoft Teams


Under his delegated decision making powers in the Officers’ Delegation Scheme in the Council’s Constitution, the Chief Executive Officer has power, in cases of emergency, to take any decision which could be taken by the Council, the Executive or a committee. Following on from the expiry of the Local Authorities and Police and Crime Panels (Coronavirus) (Flexibility of Local Authority and Police and Crime Panel Meetings) (England and Wales) Regulations 2020, which allowed for committee meetings to be held remotely, the County Council resolved at its meeting on 5 May 2021 that, for the present time, in light of the continuing Covid-19 pandemic circumstances, remote live-broadcast committee meetings should continue (as informal meetings of the Committee Members), with any formal decisions required being taken by the Chief Executive Officer under his emergency decision making powers and after consultation with other Officers and Members as appropriate and after taking into account any views of the relevant Committee Members. This approach will be reviewed in May 2022.


The meeting will be available to view once the meeting commences, via the following link -  Recordings of previous live broadcast meetings are also available there.






Welcome and Apologies






Minutes of the meeting held on 10th December 2021


(Pages 3 - 10)




Any Declarations of Interest






Public Questions or Statements



Members of the public may ask questions or make statements at this meeting if they have delivered notice (to include the text of the question/statement) to Patrick Duffy (contact details above) no later than midday on Tuesday 22nd February 2022. Each speaker should limit themselves to 3 minutes on any item.  Members of the public who have given notice will be invited to speak:-


·          at this point in the meeting if their questions/statements relate to matters which are not otherwise on the Agenda (subject to an overall time limit of 30 minutes);


·          when the relevant Agenda item is being considered if they wish to speak on a matter which is on the Agenda for this meeting.


If you are exercising your right to speak at this meeting, but do not wish to be recorded, please inform the Chair who will instruct those taking a recording to cease while you speak.





Chair's remarks



Any correspondence, communication or other business brought forward by the direction of the Chair of the Committee. 





Children's Mental Health - presentation by officers from NHS North Yorkshire Clinical Commissioning Group; Children and Young People's Service Directorate; and Child and Adolescent Mental Health Services


(Pages 11 - 30)




Young People's Champion Annual Report 2022 - County Councillor Annabel Wilkinson


(Pages 31 - 38)




Schools Update - presentation by the Corporate Director, Children and Young People's Service


(Pages 39 - 52)




Reflections and the Future - Report by the Chair


(Pages 53 - 60)




Other business which the Chair agrees should be considered as a matter of urgency because of special circumstances






Barry Khan

Assistant Chief Executive

(Legal and Democratic Services)


County Hall



Thursday, 17 February 2022




Formatting for Agenda ITEMS:









Formatting for COMMENTS:












Formatting for Sub numbered items:









If different formatting for Restricted items is required use this:









Style 2 – use this if you need more than one formatting style for Agenda Items