Thirsk and Malton Area Constituency Committee


Councillors Caroline Goodrick (Vice-Chair), Keane Duncan, Lindsay Burr MBE, Gareth Dadd, Janet Sanderson, Greg White, Joy Andrews, Alyson Baker, Sam Cross, Michelle Donohue-Moncrieff, George Jabbour, Nigel Knapton (Chair), Steve Mason, Malcolm Taylor, Dave Whitfield and Annabel Wilkinson.


Friday, 29th September, 2023


10.00 am


Ryedale House, Old Malton Road, Malton, North Yorkshire, YO17 7HH


Recording is allowed at County Council, committee and sub-committee meetings which are open to the public. Please give due regard to the Council’s protocol on audio/visual recording and photography at public meetings. Anyone wishing to record is asked to contact, prior to the start of the meeting, the Officer whose details are at the foot of the first page of the Agenda. We ask that any recording is clearly visible to anyone at the meeting and that it is non-disruptive.







Welcome by the Chair - Introductions and Updates






Minutes of the Meeting held on 16 June 2023


(Pages 3 - 16)




Apologies and Declarations of Interest






Public Questions or Statements



Members of the public may ask questions or make statements at this meeting if they have given notice and provided the text to Nicki Lishman and Louise Hancock of Democratic Services (contact details below) no later than midday on 26 September 2024. Each speaker should limit themselves to 3 minutes on any item.  Members of the public who have given notice will be invited to speak:

·           at this point in the meeting if their questions/statements relate to matters which are not otherwise on the Agenda (subject to an overall time limit of 30 minutes);

·           when the relevant Agenda item is being considered if they wish to speak on a matter which is on the Agenda for this meeting.


If you are exercising your right to speak at this meeting, but do not wish to be recorded, please inform the Chairman who will instruct those taking a recording to cease whilst you speak.





MP - Question Time






Area Constituency Committees and their role in Community Resilience


(Pages 17 - 32)




Verbal update on Helmsley Post Office and wider services throughout the area



Councillor George Jabbour.





Let's Talk Climate - Results by ACC level: Thirsk and Malton

(Pages 33 - 48)


This presentation will explore the data collected from the Let’s Talk Climate consultation and provide Members with information from residents in the Thirsk and Malton ACC area. It aims to cover:


·         Level of awareness and worry about climate change

·         Actions being taken to tackle climate change

·         Confidence in approach to slow down and prepare for a changing climate and to help nature to help us

·         Priorities for council action and working with partners and community

·         How the data is being used and next steps





Appointment to Outside Bodies

(Pages 49 - 50)


Vale of Pickering Internal Drainage Board





Work Programme

(Pages 51 - 52)


Purpose: To consider, develop and adopt a Work Programme for 2023/24 for the Area Constituency Committee.





Other business which the Chairman agrees should be considered as a matter of urgency because of special circumstances.





Contact Details


For enquiries relating to this agenda please contact Nicki Lishman tel. 01653 638476, email: or Louise Hancock tel. 01609 767015, email







Barry Khan

Assistant Chief Executive

(Legal and Democratic Services)

County Hall



21 September 2023




Formatting for Agenda ITEMS:









Formatting for COMMENTS:












Formatting for Sub numbered items:









If different formatting for Restricted items is required use this:









Style 2 – use this if you need more than one formatting style for Agenda Items