Thirsk and Malton Area Constituency Committee


Councillors Dan Sladden, Caroline Goodrick (Vice-Chair), Keane Duncan, Lindsay Burr MBE, Sam Cross, Gareth Dadd, Janet Sanderson, Greg White, Joy Andrews, Alyson Baker, Michelle Donohue-Moncrieff, George Jabbour, Nigel Knapton (Chair), Steve Mason, Malcolm Taylor and Annabel Wilkinson.


Friday, 22 March, 2024


10.00 am


Civic Centre, Stone Cross, Northallerton DL6 2UU


Recording is allowed at County Council, committee and sub-committee meetings which are open to the public. Please give due regard to the Council’s protocol on audio/visual recording and photography at public meetings. Anyone wishing to record is asked to contact, prior to the start of the meeting, the Officer whose details are at the foot of the first page of the Agenda. We ask that any recording is clearly visible to anyone at the meeting and that it is non-disruptive.






Welcome by the Chair - introductions and updates






Minutes of the meeting held on 1 December 2023


(Pages 3 - 14)




Apologies and declarations of interest






Public questions or statements



Members of the public may ask questions or make statements at this meeting if they have given notice and provided the text to Nicki Lishman of Democratic Services (contact details below) no later than midday on Tuesday, 19 March 2024. Each speaker should limit themselves to 3 minutes on any item.  Members of the public who have given notice will be invited to speak:

·           at this point in the meeting if their questions/statements relate to matters which are not otherwise on the Agenda (subject to an overall time limit of 30 minutes);

·           when the relevant Agenda item is being considered if they wish to speak on a matter which is on the Agenda for this meeting.


If you are exercising your right to speak at this meeting, but do not wish to be recorded, please inform the Chairman who will instruct those taking a recording to cease whilst you speak.





MP - Question Time






Malton - Helmsley (via Hovingham and Kirkbymoorside) Active Travel Route Development


(Pages 15 - 34)




Economic, Regeneration, Tourism and Transport Project Development Fund for the Area Constituency Committees


(Pages 35 - 40)




Appointments to Outside Bodies


(Pages 41 - 42)




Work programme

(Pages 43 - 46)


Purpose: To consider, develop and adopt a Work Programme for 2023/24 for the Area Constituency Committee.





Schools, educational achievement and finance report - for information only

(Pages 47 - 64)


Members are requested to review the report ahead of the meeting and highlight any specific issues that need to be addressed and followed up.





Climate change presentation by Councillor Paul Haslam - for information only

(Pages 65 - 72)


Slides from the presentation held online on 16 February 2024.





Other business which the Chairman agrees should be considered as a matter of urgency because of special circumstances.





Contact details


For enquiries relating to this agenda, please contact Nicki Lishman tel: 01653 638476 or e-mail:





Members are reminded that they are encouraged to contact Officers prior to the meeting with questions on technical issues in reports to expedite business at the meeting and enable Officers to adapt their presentations accordingly.


Barry Khan

Assistant Chief Executive

(Legal and Democratic Services)


County Hall



14 March 2024




Formatting for Agenda ITEMS:









Formatting for COMMENTS:












Formatting for Sub numbered items:









If different formatting for Restricted items is required use this:









Style 2 – use this if you need more than one formatting style for Agenda Items