Councillors Alyson Baker, Caroline Dickinson, Bridget Fortune, Kevin Foster, Bryn Griffiths, Tom Jones, Carl Les, Heather Moorhouse, Stuart Parsons, Yvonne Peacock (Chair), Karin Sedgwick, Angus Thompson, Malcolm Warne, Steve Watson, David Webster, John Weighell OBE, Annabel Wilkinson and Peter Wilkinson (Vice-Chair).


Monday, 12th June 2023


10.00 am


Brierley Room, County Hall, Northallerton, DL7 8AD


This meeting is being held as an in-person meeting. Members of the public are entitled to attend this meeting as observers for all those items taken in open session. Please contact the Democratic Services Officer whose contact details are below if you would like to find out more.


Recording is allowed at Council, committee and sub-committee meetings which are open to the public, please give due regard to the Council’s protocol on audio/visual recording and photography at public meetings, a copy of which is available to download below. Anyone wishing to record is asked to contact, prior to the start of the meeting, the Democratic Services Officer whose contact details are below. We ask that any recording is clearly visible to anyone at the meeting and that it is non-disruptive.







Election of a Chair



To elect a Member as Chair of the Richmond Area Constituency Committee for the 2023/24 municipal year.





Minutes of the Meeting held on 22 March 2023


(Pages 5 - 8)




Election of Vice-Chair



To elect a Member as Vice-Chair of the Richmond Area Constituency Committee for the 2023/24 municipal year.





Apologies for Absence






Declarations of Interest



All Members are invited to declare at this point any interests they have in items appearing on this agenda, including the nature of those interests.







Public Participation



Members of the public may ask questions or make statements at this meeting if they have given notice to Melanie Carr of Democratic and Scrutiny Services and supplied the text (contact details below) by midday on Wednesday, 7 June 2023 three working days before the day of the meeting.  Each speaker should limit themselves to 3 minutes on any item.  Members of the public who have given notice will be invited to speak:-

·            at this point in the meeting if their questions/statements relate to matters which are not otherwise on the Agenda (subject to an overall time limit of 30 minutes);

·            when the relevant Agenda item is being considered if they wish to speak on a matter which is on the Agenda for this meeting.

If you are exercising your right to speak at this meeting, but do not wish to be recorded, please inform the Chair who will instruct anyone who may be taking a recording to cease while you speak.





Area Constituency Committees in the new North Yorkshire Council


(Pages 9 - 18)




Update on Delivery of North Yorkshire Flood Risk Strategy (2022-2027)

(Pages 19 - 32)


To inform Members of the on-going work associated with the delivery of the North Yorkshire Flood Risk Strategy (2022-27).





Yorbus Pilot Project Update

(Pages 33 - 38)


To update the committee on the YorBus pilot Digital Demand Responsive Bus Service which will end on 30 June 2023.





Road Closures in Hawes






Appointments to Outside Bodies

(Pages 39 - 46)


To invite the Area Constituency Committee to make appointments, on behalf of the Council, to various outside bodies.





Work Programme


(Pages 47 - 50)




Any Other Items



Any other items which the Leader agrees should be considered as a matter of urgency because of special circumstances





Date of Next Meeting - 18 September 2023





Members are reminded that in order to expedite business at the meeting and enable Officers to adapt their presentations to address areas causing difficulty, they are encouraged to contact Officers prior to the meeting with questions on technical issues in reports.




Contact Details


Enquiries relating to this agenda please contact Melanie Carr Tel: 01609 533849 or e-mail:





Barry Khan

Assistant Chief Executive

(Legal and Democratic Services)

County Hall


2 June 2023




Formatting for Agenda ITEMS:









Formatting for COMMENTS:












Formatting for Sub numbered items:









If different formatting for Restricted items is required use this:









Style 2 – use this if you need more than one formatting style for Agenda Items