Your Councillors by Electoral Division

The county council consists of 72 councillors, each representing public interest as well as individuals living within the electoral division in which he or she has been elected to serve a term of office. They are elected every four years, most recently in May 2017.

There is currently a vacant seat in the Ribblesdale Division, for which a by-election is to be held on 6 May 2021.

Local Councillors are elected by the community to decide how the council should carry out its various activities. They have regular contact with the general public through council meetings, telephone calls or surgeries. Surgeries provide an opportunity for any ward resident to go and talk their councillor face to face and these take place on a regular basis.

Councillors are not paid a salary for their work, but they do receive allowances. By law, all members of the Council are required to complete a declaration of interest form, the details of which are published annually.

To find your councillor please use the below links:

Councillor by Electoral Division
Photograph Councillor Political party Electoral Division
photo of Councillor Andy Paraskos

Councillor Andy Paraskos

16 Castle Street, Spofforth, Harrogate, HG3 1AP

Work: 07808 803667

Work: cllr.andy.paraskos@northyorks.gov.uk

Conservative Ainsty division
photo of Councillor Patrick Mulligan

Councillor Patrick Mulligan

Executive Member for Education and Skills

Acres Barn, Clogger Lane, Elslack, Skipton, BD23 3BN

Home mobile: 07775 626490

Work: cllr.patrick.mulligan@northyorks.gov.uk

Conservative Airedale division
photo of Councillor John Weighell OBE

Councillor John Weighell OBE

Southlands, Exelby Road, Bedale, DL8 2ES

Home: 01677 422275

Work: cllr.john.weighell@northyorks.gov.uk

Conservative Bedale division
photo of Councillor Robert Windass

Councillor Robert Windass

12 Harness Lane, Boroughbridge, York, YO51 9PF

Home: 01423 323928

Work: cllr.robert.windass@northyorks.gov.uk

Conservative Boroughbridge division
photo of Councillor Janet Jefferson

Councillor Janet Jefferson

41 Eastborough, Scarborough, YO11 1NH

Work: cllr.janet.jefferson@northyorks.gov.uk

North Yorkshire Independent Castle division
photo of Councillor Carl Les

Councillor Carl Les

Leader

The Rosary, Kirklington, Bedale, DL8 2LX

Home: 01845 565496

Work: cllr.carl.les@northyorks.gov.uk

Conservative Catterick Bridge division
photo of Councillor Andrew Lee

Councillor Andrew Lee

Executive Member for Open to Business

c/o County Hall, Room 11, Racecourse Lane, Northallerton, DL7 8AD

Work: 01937 833434

Work: cllr.andrew.lee@northyorks.gov.uk

Conservative Cawood and Saxton division
photo of Councillor Helen Grant

Councillor Helen Grant

8 Sleegill, St. Martins, Richmond, DL10 4RH

Home: 01748 821072

Work: cllr.helen.grant@northyorks.gov.uk

North Yorkshire Independent Central Richmondshire division
photo of Councillor Peter Sowray MBE

Councillor Peter Sowray MBE

Treble Sykes Farm, Helperby, York, YO61 2SB

Home: 01423 360667

Work: cllr.peter.sowray@northyorks.gov.uk

Conservative Easingwold division
photo of Councillor Tony Randerson

Councillor Tony Randerson

32 Ashville Avenue, Scarborough, YO12 7NF

Home mobile: 07926 226904

Work: cllr.tony.randerson@northyorks.gov.uk

Labour Eastfield and Osgodby division
photo of Councillor Richard Musgrave

Councillor Richard Musgrave

C/O Democratic Services, North Yorkshire County Council, Racecourse Lane, Northallerton, DL7 8AD

Work: 01609 533531

Work: Cllr.Richard.Musgrave@northyorks.gov.uk

Conservative Escrick Division
photo of Councillor Clive Pearson

Councillor Clive Pearson

Hill House Farm, Lealholm, Whitby, YO21 1QS

Home: 01947 897372

Work: cllr.clive.pearson@northyorks.gov.uk

Conservative Esk Valley division
photo of Councillor Liz Colling

Councillor Liz Colling

3 Westbourne Park, Scarborough, YO12 4AS

Home: 01723 351214

Work: cllr.liz.colling@northyorks.gov.uk

Labour Falsgrave and Stepney division
photo of Councillor Helen Swiers

Councillor Helen Swiers

Bickley Gate House, Langdale End, Bickley, Scarborough, YO13 0LL

Home: 01723 882438

Work: cllr.helen.swiers@northyorks.gov.uk

Conservative Filey division
photo of Councillor Heather Moorhouse

Councillor Heather Moorhouse

Easby Mill, Low Easby, Great Ayton, TS9 6JQ

Home: 01642 723147

Work: cllr.heather.moorhouse@northyorks.gov.uk

Conservative Great Ayton division
photo of Councillor Paul Haslam

Councillor Paul Haslam

Woodside Farm, Bilton, Harrogate, HG1 4DH

Work: cllr.paul.haslam@northyorks.gov.uk

Conservative Harrogate Bilton and Nidd Gorge division
photo of Councillor Richard Cooper

Councillor Richard Cooper

Flat 1, 107 East Parade, Harrogate, HG1 5LR

Home: 01423 705074

Work: cllr.richard.cooper@northyorks.gov.uk

Conservative Harrogate Central division
photo of Councillor John Mann

Councillor John Mann

98 Walton Park, Harrogate, HG3 1RJ

Home mobile: 07743 578256

Work: cllr.john.mann@northyorks.gov.uk

Conservative Harrogate Central division
photo of Councillor Jim Clark

Councillor Jim Clark

Chairman of the County Council

74 Green Lane, Harrogate, HG2 9LN

Home: 01423 872822

Conservative Harrogate Harlow division
photo of Councillor John Ennis

Councillor John Ennis

12 St James Drive, Harrogate, HG2 8HT

Home: 01423 563904

Work: cllr.john.ennis@northyorks.gov.uk

Conservative Harrogate Oatlands divsion
photo of Councillor Don Mackenzie

Councillor Don Mackenzie

Executive Member for Access

4 Firs Drive, Harrogate, HG2 9HB

Home: 01423 872211

Work: cllr.don.mackenzie@northyorks.gov.uk

Conservative Harrogate Saltergate division
photo of Councillor Philip Broadbank

Councillor Philip Broadbank

19 Prospect Close, Starbeck, Harrogate, HG2 7PR

Home: 01423 888377

Work: cllr.philip.broadbank@northyorks.gov.uk

Liberal Democrats Harrogate Starbeck division
photo of Councillor Roberta Swiers

Councillor Roberta Swiers

23 Main Street, Cayton, Scarborough, YO11 3RS

Home: 01723 584386

Work: cllr.roberta.swiers@northyorks.gov.uk

Conservative Hertford and Cayton division
photo of Councillor Caroline Goodrick

Councillor Caroline Goodrick

Whey Carr Farm, Sand Hutton, York, YO41 1LB

Home: 01904 468338

Work: cllr.caroline.goodrick@northyorks.gov.uk

Conservative Hovingham and Sheriff Hutton division
photo of Councillor Val Arnold

Councillor Val Arnold

Low Farm, Beadlam Rigg, Pockley, North Yorkshire, YO62 7TG

Home: 01439 770904

Work: cllr.val.arnold@northyorks.gov.uk

Conservative Kirkbymoorside division
photo of Councillor David Goode

Councillor David Goode

11 Abbey Crags Way, Knaresborough, HG5 8FF

Liberal Democrats Knaresborough division
photo of Councillor Zoe Metcalfe

Councillor Zoe Metcalfe

Pear Tree House, The Nookin, Marton cum Grafton, York, YO51 9QW

Home mobile: 07866 385289

Work: cllr.zoe.metcalfe@northyorks.gov.uk

Conservative Knaresborough division
photo of Councillor Michael Harrison

Councillor Michael Harrison

Executive Member for Adult Services and Health Integration, Chair of North Yorkshire Health and Wellbeing Board

18 Sorrel Grove, Killinghall Moor, Harrogate, HG3 2XE

Work: cllr.michael.harrison@northyorks.gov.uk

Conservative Lower Nidderdale and Bishop Monkton division
photo of Councillor Lindsay Burr MBE

Councillor Lindsay Burr MBE

Sutton Grange, Langton Road, Norton, Malton, YO17 9PU

Home: 01653 697210

Work: cllr.lindsay.burr@northyorks.gov.uk

North Yorkshire Independent Malton division
photo of Councillor Margaret Atkinson

Councillor Margaret Atkinson

Parkfield, Galphay Road, Kirby Malzead, Ripon, HG4 3RX

Home: 01765 658545

Work: cllr.margaret.atkinson@northyorks.gov.uk

Home: cllr.margaret.atkinson@northyorks.gov.uk

Conservative Masham and Fountains division
photo of Councillor Gillian Quinn

Councillor Gillian Quinn

Newlands, 1A Skipton Road, Embsay, Skipton, BD23 6QT

Home: 01756 700746

Work: cllr.gillian.quinn@northyorks.gov.uk

Conservative Mid Craven division
photo of Councillor Chris Pearson

Councillor Chris Pearson

31 Fir Tree Lane, Thorpe Willoughby, Selby, YO8 9PG

Home: 01757 704202

Work: cllr.chris.pearson@northyorks.gov.uk

Conservative Mid Selby division
photo of Councillor Karin Sedgwick

Councillor Karin Sedgwick

23 Park View, Leyburn, DL8 5HN

Work: 01969 622038

Home: 01969 622038

Work: Cllr.Karin.Sedgwick@northyorks.gov.uk

Conservative Middle Dales division
photo of Councillor Andrew Backhouse

Councillor Andrew Backhouse

5 West Park Avenue, Newby, Scarborough, YO12 6HH

Home: 01723 362427

Work: cllr.andrew.backhouse@northyorks.gov.uk

North Yorkshire Independent Newby division
photo of Councillor David Ireton

Councillor David Ireton

Westfields, Chapel le Dale, Ingleton, via Cornforth, LA6 3JG

Home: 01524 242435

Work: cllr.david.ireton@northyorks.gov.uk

Conservative North Craven Division
photo of Councillor David Hugill

Councillor David Hugill

Turtle Hill Farm, Faceby, Middlesbrough, TS9 7BZ

Home: 01642 700826

Work: cllr.david.hugill@northyorks.gov.uk

Conservative North Hambleton division
photo of Councillor Caroline Dickinson

Councillor Caroline Dickinson

Executive Member - Public Health, Prevention and Supported Housing, including Sustainability and Transformation Plans

124 Bankhead Road, Northallerton, DL6 1JD

Home: 01609 773158

Home mobile: 07713 978154

Work: cllr.caroline.dickinson@northyorks.gov.uk

Conservative Northallerton division
photo of Councillor Eric Broadbent

Councillor Eric Broadbent

Labour group leader

Woodrise, Filey Road, Scarborough, YO11 3NH

Home mobile: 07538 316317

Work: cllr.eric.broadbent@northyorks.gov.uk

Labour Northstead division
photo of Councillor Keane Duncan

Councillor Keane Duncan

The Old Post Office, 42 Beverley Road, Norton, Malton, YO17 9BU

Home mobile: 07794 451202

Work: cllr.keane.duncan@northyorks.gov.uk

Conservative Norton division
photo of Councillor John McCartney

Councillor John McCartney

15 Hawthorn Garth, Kellington, Goole, DN14 0PB

Work: 01977 662558

Work: cllr.john.mccartney@northyorks.gov.uk

North Yorkshire Independent Osgoldcross division
photo of Councillor Cliff Trotter

Councillor Cliff Trotter

17 Fulwith Road, Harrogate, HG2 8HL

Home: 01423 879589

Conservative Pannal and Lower Wharfedale division
photo of Councillor Stanley Lumley

Councillor Stanley Lumley

Lyndene, Bewerley, Pateley Bridge, Harrogate, HG3 5HS

Home: 01423 712035

Home mobile: 07368 212947

Work: cllr.stanley.lumley@northyorks.gov.uk

Conservative Pateley Bridge division
photo of Councillor Greg White

Councillor Greg White

ExecutiveMember - Areas of responsibility: Customer Engagement, including contact centre, website, libraries, digital, and performance management (complaints and compliments).

April Cottage, Lastingham, York, YO62 6TJ

Home: 01751 242400

Work: Cllr.Greg.White@northyorks.gov.uk

Conservative Pickering division
photo of Councillor Stuart Parsons

Councillor Stuart Parsons

North Yorkshire Independents group leader

10 Parkinsons Yard, Richmond, DL10 4JB

Home: 01748 823456

Work: cllr.stuart.parsons@northyorks.gov.uk

North Yorkshire Independent Richmond division
photo of Councillor Angus Thompson

Councillor Angus Thompson

High Bank Farm, Stapleton, Darlington, DL2 2QE

Home mobile: 07968 787880

Work: cllr.angus.thompson@northyorks.gov.uk

Conservative Richmondshire North division
photo of Councillor Mike Chambers MBE

Councillor Mike Chambers MBE

Kirkdale, Littlethorpe Lane, Ripon, HG4 1UB

Home mobile: 07743 286879

Work: Cllr.Mike.Chambers@northyorks.gov.uk

Conservative Ripon North division
photo of Councillor Stuart Martin MBE

Councillor Stuart Martin MBE

Vice-Chair County Council

12 Deep Ghyll Walk, Ripon, HG4 1RL

Home: 01765 601218

Work: cllr.stuart.martin@northyorks.gov.uk

Conservative Ripon South division
photo of Councillor David Blades

Councillor David Blades

Greenways, Bullamoor Road, Northallerton, DL6 3QW

Home: 01609 774565

Home mobile: 07889 747325

Work: cllr.david.blades@northyorks.gov.uk

Conservative Romanby and Broomfield division
photo of Councillor Derek Bastiman

Councillor Derek Bastiman

6 Hamilton Close, Scalby, Scarborough, YO13 0RN

Home: 01723 361435

Home: cllr.derek.bastiman@northyorks.gov.uk

Conservative Scalby and the Coast division
photo of Councillor David Jeffels

Councillor David Jeffels

Orchard Cottage, 19 Hall Garth Lane, West Ayton, Scarborough, YO13 9JA

Home: 01723 863395

Work: cllr.david.jeffels@northyorks.gov.uk

Conservative Seamer and Derwent division
photo of Councillor Karl Arthur

Councillor Karl Arthur

12 Portholme Road, Selby, YO8 4QQ

Home: 01757 709072

Work: cllr.Karl.Arthur@northyorks.gov.uk

Conservative Selby Barlby division
photo of Councillor Stephanie Duckett

Councillor Stephanie Duckett

6 Highfield Crescent, Barlby, Selby, YO8 5HD

Home: 01757 706809

Work: cllr.stephanie.duckett@northyorks.gov.uk

Labour Selby Barlby division
photo of Councillor Cliff Lunn

Councillor Cliff Lunn

18 Fordlands, Thorpe Willoughby, Selby, YO8 9PD

Home: 01757 706159

Work: cllr.cliff.lunn@northyorks.gov.uk

Conservative Selby Brayton division
photo of Councillor Mel Hobson

Councillor Mel Hobson

67 Pasture Avenue, Sherburn-in-Elmet, LS25 6LG

Home: 01977 682597

Home: Cllr.Mel.Hobson@northyorks.gov.uk

Conservative Sherburn in Elmet division
photo of Councillor Robert Heseltine

Councillor Robert Heseltine

The Ginnel Place, Newmarket Street, Skipton, BD23 2JB

Home: 01756 701243

Work: cllr.robert.heseltine@northyorks.gov.uk

Independent Unaffiliated Skipton East division
photo of Councillor Andy Solloway

Councillor Andy Solloway

7 Wensleydale Avenue, Skipton, BD23 2TS

Home: 01756 793568

Work: cllr.andy.solloway@northyorks.gov.uk

Independent Unaffiliated Skipton West division
photo of Councillor Philip Barrett

Councillor Philip Barrett

14 Beanlands Drive, Glusburn, Keighley, West Yorkshire, BD20 8PZ

Home: 01535 636910

Work: cllr.philip.barrett@northyorks.gov.uk

North Yorkshire Independent South Craven division
photo of Councillor Mike Jordan

Councillor Mike Jordan

25 Garden Lane, Sherburn in Elmet, LS25 6AT

Home: 01977 683766

Work: cllr.mike.jordan@northyorks.gov.uk

Conservative South Selby division
photo of Councillor Robert Baker

Councillor Robert Baker

High Crosby House, 9 The Stonebow, Thornton-le-Beans, Northallerton, DL6 3SR

Home: 01609 776786

Conservative Sowerby division
photo of Councillor Caroline Patmore

Councillor Caroline Patmore

The Old Post Office, Oulston, YO61 3RA

Home: 01347 868731

Work: cllr.caroline.patmore@northyorks.gov.uk

Conservative Stillington division
photo of Councillor Bryn Griffiths

Councillor Bryn Griffiths

60 Meadowfield, Stokesley, TS9 5HH

Home: 01642 711572

Work: cllr.bryn.griffiths@northyorks.gov.uk

Liberal Democrats Stokesley division
photo of Councillor Annabel Wilkinson

Councillor Annabel Wilkinson

1 Ashtree Road, Bedale, DL8 1EX

Home: 01677 426744

Work: Cllr.Annabel.Wilkinson@northyorks.gov.uk

Conservative Swale division
photo of Councillor Don MacKay

Councillor Don MacKay

14 West Mount, Tadcaster, LS24 9LB

Work mobile: 07732 009754

Work: cllr.don.mackay@northyorks.gov.uk

North Yorkshire Independent Tadcaster division
photo of Councillor Gareth Dadd

Councillor Gareth Dadd

Deputy Leader

The Old Black Bull, Thormanby, York, YO6 4NN

Home mobile: 07904 390455

Work: cllr.gareth.dadd@northyorks.gov.uk

Conservative Thirsk division
photo of Councillor Janet Sanderson

Councillor Janet Sanderson

Executive Member for Children's Services

Walnut Cottage, Priestmans Lane, Thornton Dale, Pickering, YO18 7RT

Home: 01751 474516

Work: cllr.janet.sanderson@northyorks.gov.uk

Conservative Thornton Dale and the Wolds division
photo of Councillor Yvonne Peacock

Councillor Yvonne Peacock

Manor Barn, Bainbridge, Leyburn, DL8 3EE

Home: 01969 650409

Work: cllr.yvonne.peacock@northyorks.gov.uk

Conservative Upper Dales division
photo of Councillor Callam Walsh

Councillor Callam Walsh

c/o Democratic Services, County Hall, Northallerton, DL7 8AD

Home mobile: 07728592260

Work: cllr.callam.walsh@northyorks.gov.uk

Conservative Weaponness and Ramshill division
photo of Councillor David Chance

Councillor David Chance

Executive Member for Stronger Communities

Adventure House, Newholm, Whitby, YO21 3QY

Home: 01947 605376

Conservative Whitby Mayfield cum Mulgrave division
photo of Councillor Joe Plant

Councillor Joe Plant

c/o Democratic Services, Room 11, County Hall, Northallerton, DL7 8AD

Work: 01609 533531

Work: cllr.joe.plant@northyorks.gov.uk

Conservative Whitby Streonshalh division
photo of Councillor Andrew Jenkinson

Councillor Andrew Jenkinson

28 Lady Ediths Avenue, Scarborough, YO12 5RB

Home: 01723 369436

Work: cllr.andrew.jenkinson@northyorks.gov.uk

Independent Unaffiliated Woodlands division
photo of Vacancy - Ribblesdale Division

Vacancy - Ribblesdale Division

Ribblesdale

Please contact, Daniel Harry, Democratic Services, County Hall, Northallerton, DL7 8AD

Home: 01609 533531

Home: daniel.harry@northyorks.gov.uk

   
photo of Vacancy - Harrogate Bilton and Nidd Gorge

Vacancy - Harrogate Bilton and Nidd Gorge

Harrogate Bilton and Nidd Gorge

Please contact, Daniel Harry, Democratic Services, County Hall, Northallerton, DL7 8AD

Home: 01609 533531

Home: daniel.harry@northyorks.gov.uk