Committee details


Purpose of committee

The Executive, consisting of the leader and nine other councillors:


Leader of the Council, also responsible for communications and emergency planning

Deputy Leader of the Council & Executive Member for Finance and Resources, including Pension Fund, Property, Procurement & Commercial, Technology, Transformation, Revenue and Benefits and HR

Executive Member for Children and Families with responsibility for Inclusion, Fostering & Adoption, Children’s Social Care, Safeguarding & Prevention

Executive Member for Education, Learning and Skills, including School Improvement, Early Years, Apprenticeships, Further and Adult Education, FE colleges & UTCs, Music Service, Outdoor Education, School Admissions, Organisation and Transport

Executive Member for Highways and Transportation including Parking Services, Street Scene, Parks & Grounds, Integrated Passenger Transport, Public Rights of Way, Coastal Protection & Flooding

Executive Member for Open to Business including Planning, Economic Development & Regeneration, Visitor Economy, Broadband and Harbours

Executive Member for Culture, Arts and Housing including Culture, Arts, Libraries, Museums, Archives, Key venues, Leisure, and Housing

Executive Member for Health and Adult Services including Public Health, Prevention and Service Development

Executive Member for Corporate Services  including Locality Working and Structures, Stronger Communities, Policy & Performance, Refugee & Asylum issues, Community safety including CCTV, Legal and Democratic Services, Members Support, Elections, Customer Contact, Community Networks and Parish Liaison, Locality Budgets, NYLAF & Household Support and Gypsy and Traveller issues.

Executive Member for Managing our Environment covering Natural Capital, which includes Climate Change, Carbon Reduction and Bio-diversity, Waste Collection and Disposal, Regulatory Services which includes Environmental Health, Trading Standards and Licensing, Bereavement Services, Registrars and Coroners.


Contact information

Support officer: Elizabeth Jackson, Principal Democratic Services Officer. Email:

Phone: 01423 556409