Your Councillors by Party

The county council consists of 90 councillors, each representing public interest as well as individuals living within the electoral division in which he or she has been elected to serve a term of office. The most recent elections were on 5 May 2022.

The details of the 90 county councillors are currently being updated following the elections on 5 May 2022.

Local Councillors are elected by the community to decide how the council should carry out its various activities. They have regular contact with the general public through council meetings, telephone calls or surgeries. Surgeries provide an opportunity for any ward resident to go and talk their councillor face to face and these take place on a regular basis.

Councillors are not paid a salary for their work, but they do receive allowances. By law, all members of the Council are required to complete a declaration of interest form, the details of which are published annually.

To find your councillor please use the below links:


 Liberal Democrats


 North Yorkshire Independent

 Green Party

 Independent Unaffiliated

 Labour and Co-Operative Party

 Liberal Party

 Not specified